U bent succesvol uitgelogd.


Sanctions measures foreign countries

The country to which you’re trying to transfer money or from which you expect to receive a transfer may be subject to sanctions. This may mean you’re unable to complete the transaction(s). Find out which countries are subject to sanctions and what this means for you.


Countries subject to sanctions

We have a stricter policy on trading with the countries listed below.

Country ISO Country code
Cuba CU
Iran IR
North Korea KP
Syria SY

Please note: ABN AMRO will in some cases use one or multiple correspondent banks to execute your transaction. Since our correspondent banks may have a different policy on sanctions, your transaction may be delayed or not be executed at all.

What this means for you

If you want to transfer money to or receive a transfer from a country that is subject to sanctions, please contact us first. We can tell you whether or not your transactions can be processed.

ABN AMRO abides by international sanctions programmes, including those of the United Nations (UN), the European Union (EU) and the United States (US). Additionally, ABN AMRO adheres to local sanctions programmes in countries where the bank has a presence. 

We also have our own sanctions policy, meaning that in some cases we go by a policy that is stricter than required by external sanctions programmes. Our policy is based on our own risk analysis.

Sanctions are measures taken by the international community in response to a violation of or threat to international peace and security. They are intended to bring about change in a country’s or government’s conduct. They can be imposed on a country, an organisation or a person. 

Examples of sanctions include financial restrictions (loans, payments, documentary credits), general or specific trade restrictions (import and export bans), arms embargoes, and access restrictions (visa or travel ban).